Dannie

How to create a start up disk for Windows Vista

I just bought a new laptop L305-S5919.  I'm new to using Windows Vista.  I want to create a start up (boot disk).  Windows Visat was preinstalled on my laptop and I don't have any disks. How do I go about creating a boot disk? thanks! Dannie
Ace Advisor
Jerry_Lippey

Re: How to create a start up disk for Windows Vista

Satellite L305-S5919 

Dannie, there is no such thing as a boot disk for the Windows NT series of Windows (NT 3.x, NT 4.0, 2000, XP, and Vista).

But for Windows Vista you can make two kinds of discs that could be useful in an emergency.

1. A disc that contains an operating system.

This would permit you to access your hard drive when you could not boot to Windows. A popular bootable CD is Ubuntu. There's also KNOPPIX, Bart's, UBCD4Win, SystemRescueCd, and probably others.

2. A disc that enables you to run a repair on the startup files when Windows Vista won't boot.

The Windows Recovery Environment is a feature of any Windows Vista installation DVD. To reach that, get the Windows Vista Recovery Disc Download.

The Recovery Environment looks like this.

http://blogs.technet.com/blogfiles/daven/WindowsLiveWriter/WindowsRecoveryEnvironment_F190/WinRE%5B7%5D.jpghttp://blogs.technet.com/blogfiles/daven/WindowsLiveWriter/WindowsRecoveryEnvironment_F190/WinRE%5B7%5D.jpghttp://blogs.technet.com/blogfiles/daven/WindowsLiveWriter/WindowsRecoveryEnvironment_F190/WinRE%5B7%5D.jpg

You can run Bootrec from that command prompt.

How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair start...

-Jerry
Dannie

Hi Jerry!