TheDarkManus
Accepted Solution

Installing Win7 with no CD/DVD drive

My brother's laptop caught some virus, it was removed but made it unbootable. He never made recovery media for it and has to cd/dvd drive to use to install windows 7. The hard drive had been formatted so the recovery partition is gone. How can I get it back to factory condition with no disk drive? The warranty ran out too.

It is a Satellite T235D-S1340

Part number: PST4LU-007005

I know it has the option for a Network boot, but the information I've been reading shows different ways and different files. I tried some but when I get to the part where its going to install it mentions some error about not having a (or the correct) driver for the network. I can't recall the exact error. I tried messing with WinPE, which I have no experience with, but I guess the drivers I used were incorrect or most likely I missed some other step. Wished I knew someone with the same laptop to just copy the hard drive and go from there.  Any ideas or advice?

If only my brother asked for my help to prevent the issue. :smileysad: It would be easier than trying to fix it.

Ace Advisor
Jerry_Lippey

Re: Installing Win7 with no CD/DVD drive

Satellite T235D-S1340

Probably best to obtain the recovery flash drive from Toshiba.

Order Toshiba Recovery Media

-Jerry
TheDarkManus

[ Edited ]

I  had taken a look at that order form but when I get to the part that shows me what I am ordering it has this:

• SW Media - DVD-SATELLITE-T235D-Windows 7 64bit Home Premium-EN