Occasional Contributor
Princess_K

Jelly Bean Inquiry

[ Edited ]

According to tips4droid.com (specifically: http://tips4droid.com/tablets-that-will-get-android-jelly-bean-update/comment-page-1/#comment-335), it appears we may getting Jelly Bean for the Thrive in September of this year (2012 for future readers).

Quote-

"Toshiba Thrive:  Toshiba thrive has all the hardware required for running Android Jelly Bean. Equipped with Nvidia Tegra 2 its ready for Android 4.1 which will be releasing by September 2012."

Now I am curious if this is indeed the case and Toshiba is going to throw in the towel with ICS and go directly to a Jelly Bean release in September ?

Its entirely possible that this is just semi-substantiated rumour, but if true, I would respect Toshiba for skipping ICS due to the long delay and other issues that contributed, and instead decided to work on a release Jelly Bean for the Thrive in September as a nice surprise.

I'm a developer and love my thrive, but being two reviso's out of date would be seriously stretching the limits of tolerability if this drags on and out and we have to wait another year to be behind schedule yet again.

So, long and short of it, I love my thrive 10.1. I haven't felt the need to get a case for it since its been pretty much implanted on my left arm between elbow and wrist for over a year now... that's how much I love this device. But we need the OS up to date alot faster.. and in situations where we're now two OS's behind, its important to know what's going on and what the thinking is.

Just fyi, Toshiba, and to reiterate, if you're gonna wow us all with Jelly Bean and skip ICS, I'm cool with that, and mucho respect to you for doing it. If its a rumor, we need ICS soon and Jelly Bean Real Sooooon. But we need to know whats what, regardless.

Thanks for the all the work you guys are doing and I hope to hear from ya, Jim :smileyhappy:

stevebway

Re: Jelly Bean Inquiry