sammyj

Toshiba won't boot up

Hi, 

I have a Toshiba Satellite C655.  I am having trouble getting to my desktop and was wondering if anyone could help.  

When starting the computer, I get the normal Toshiba welcome screen along with the chevron logo etc.  Then, after about 3 seconds, it goes to a black screen with a white cursor at the top.  The cursor is NOT blinking.

On the Toshiba welcome screen I am only offered to hit F2 for Setup Utility or F12 for Boot Manager.  Both of these buttons will take me to the InsydeH20 Setup Utility screens and Boot Manager Screens respectively. 

However, I really don't know what to do from there.  I see lots of options but as a novice I don't know which options might help.  Can anyone give me some directions?  

PS - I have tried all the other stuff, unplug, take out battery, etc.  I would be happy to provide screen shots if needed.

Thank you so much!

Sam

Peter

Re: Toshiba won't boot up

After entering setup, there should be instructions telling you what buttons to press to reset the settings to default. Do that, and then save and exit.

Is there any change after doing that?

- Peter
sammyj

When I hit F2 and enter Setup Utility, at the bottom of the screen it says to push "F9" for setup defaults.  Nothing changes.  See screen shot of what I get when I hit F2.

http://twitpic.com/88kx9y

Thanks!

sammyj

And yes I did hit "Save & Exit", it just booted right back up and went to the black screen with the cursor.

Peter

Which C655 do you have? There should be a label on the bottom.

You could attempt a recovery. Recovering your laptop to its original, out-of-the-box state is a great way to eliminate software as a possible cause of the problem. Note that doing a system recovery will return the laptop to its default conditions, completely wiping your data. Information on how to perform a system recovery can be found in your user's guide. Most likely, holding '0' (zero) while booting will start the recovery tool.

- Peter