NaBUru38
Accepted Solution

Keyboard and warranty issues

Dear Toshiba staff,

I'm a Uruguayan resident and bought a Toshiba Pro P855 laptop computer in a Best Buy shop in the United States. As soon as I tried the computer, I found a problem with the keyboard that requires to press the Fn key to use the F1-F12 keys, but more importantly prevents me from opening the BIOS setup menu.

Therefore, I went to the Centro Nacional de Servicios, which is an official Toshiba support center in Uruguay. I described and showed the problem to them. There I was told that the problem could be hardware or software.

Then the technician added that since I bought the computer in the United States, the warranty is not valid in Uruguay. However, the warranty I got with the computer cleary says that is is valid "for Latin America" among other territories. So I called the Toshiba call center, and the technician told me the same story.

Why I get told that, when the warranty says that it is valid for Latin America?

Then, supposing that I actualy have no warranty here, can you help me fix the computer though this forum?

Thank you!

Peter

Re: Keyboard and warranty issues

Can you post the full model and model-part number for the laptop off of the label on the bottom in the thread?

Then, if you'd like to send a private message with your serial number (don't post it in the thread), I'll check the warranty information.

- Peter
NaBUru38

My computer is a Satellite Pro P855-S5200. The part number is PSPKAU-00F009. Thank you!

Peter

Thanks for the information. I''m looking into it and will let you know what I find.

- Peter
Peter

The warranty appears to only apply within the United States. Was there packaging or any materials that made you think it would apply in Uruguay?

- Peter
NaBUru38