RSH
RSH

Satellite lid hinge broken

I am currently deployed to the Middle East.  Stateside, I work as a computer technician and operate a helpdesk. I deal with various computer brands on a day to day basis. I bought a Toshiba laptop, model Satellite C655-S5122, for personal use from a friend before I deployed. I already owned an ASUS tablet but wanted a way to more conveniently take online college courses. The Toshiba was only two months old when I purchased it. I inspected the computer and there was no damage to the outside and functioned properly.  Three months after I purchased the computer I noticed the left hinge of the lid did not close properly.  Not long afterwards the right hinge started malfunctioning also. I have seen this issue in other computer brands. Typically the issue can be resolved with replacing a screw that is loose or fallen out all together. I took the back off the computer in an attempt to tighten the screws that hold the hinges in place. It did not take me long to realize just how poorly made this computer is. The hinges were screwed into the bottom plastic shell. The plastic screw holes that hold the hinges in place had completely broken off.  The screw holes were not even reinforced. I understand this is a base model computer; however, it was unable to hold up to normal wear and tear. The computer has not been dropped, hit, or slammed.  When closing the lid I have always held both sides and closed it easily.  I am very disappointed in how this computer was designed.  I have attached pictures showing the problem.

Pic 1 shows the screws that hold down the hinge with the broken plastic attached.

Pic 2 shows the plastic that houses the screw holes. The plastic was painted copper to look like metal.

Pic 3 shows both hinges that have broken the plastic

Pic 4 shows the broken plastic that used to be the screw holes