Fpafu
Accepted Solution

Cannot search for wireless devices on NB200

Hello.

I have recently acquired a Toshiba Mini Notebook NB200 (Windows XP, 32 bit) and I have problems with searching for Wireless networks. The first time I used it, it automatically found a Wi network and I was able to use it without problems. But after that it stopped searching for WiFi devices and, even if my wireless network device is on (I turned it on using the FN+F8 combination and the wireless led is orange), I still get this error every time I use the ConfigFree:

As far as I've understood, I need to download and install a certain driver? But since my Internet connection worked properly that first time, is it still necessary for me to do that?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge. I'm new to these types of latops.

Fpafu

Re: Cannot search for wireless devices on NB200

[ Edited ]

I apologize for double posting, but do I need to add any additional information, or have I posted in the wrong section? Please tell me if so. I'm growing a tad desperate here, as I'll be moving to another city soon and I'm really going to need the Internet there. 

Edit. I've run a PC diagnosis and here is some extra info.

http://i54.tinypic.com/2zegjg3.png

I've also used the Troubleshooter and everything turned out fine. It's just that my Notebook won't find any wireless networks. 

Ace Advisor
Jerry_Lippey

[ Edited ]

Toshiba NB200-10P (PLL25E-00401KG3)

Thanks for the model designation. So you have 802.11b/g (no N) there with Windows XP.

Instead of using the Toshiba client, try the Windows Zero Configuration service that's built into Windows XP. Many prefer it. This applies to Service Pack 3 also.

How to troubleshoot wireless network connections in Windows XP Service Pack 2

Do you have the User's Manual for that machine?

-Jerry
Fpafu