Xelix

Quotation Key Not Functioning Correctly

I have very recently purchased a Toshiba laptop version: Satellite C855-S5214. I have had no real issues with this computer, aside from one minute, but important detail. As an author I NEED to use the quotation mark key. When I attempt to press it, nothing happens until I press another key. ä this is that happens when I press quotation mark and then A. ö and with O. ü and U. It appears normally when I press the spacebar after the quotation key, but the space doesn't appear. If I press it once, nothing happens and twice, two quotation marks appear. If I press it once and then try to type, sometimes it doesn't appear at all. It is incredibly difficult to attempt dialogue while writing if I cannot use that one ridiculous key. I KNOW others have had this problem before and I DO hope someone has a solution.

Thank you very much,

Daniel (XelixHeart@yahoo.com)

Super Advisor
cbwilsha

Re: Quotation Key Not Functioning Correctly

Well daniel, you are one up on me because, after being on these Forums for a few years now, I've never heard of such a problem.

However, a couple of things worth trying.  One, type Language in the Start/Search box and click on Region and Language. Make sure English (United States) is shown in the Format box. If not and you have to change to that, click Apply and OK.

Second, try reinstalling the keyboard driver.  Go to Device Manager, double click on keyboards, right click on the internal keyboard and click Uninstall.  Restart computer and the driver will be automatically reinstalled.

C.B.

C.B.

Toshiba Sat. C75D-B7260 Win 8.1 64 Bit---Toshiba Sat. L775D-S7132 Win 7 PRO SP3 64 Bit which also has Virtual Machine with Win XP SP3---Toshiba Sat. L305-S5921 Win Vista SP2 32 Bit---Toshiba Sat. L675D-S7016 Win 7 SP1 64 Bit
Ace Advisor
Jerry_Lippey

Satellite C855-S5214

There's a Microsoft Fix it in here, Daniel.

How to use the United States-International keyboard layout...

-Jerry
Xelix