jes0301

Keyboard isn't working

Hi,

I have a Satellite M305-S4910 that I purchased from Best Buy in March 2009. When I purchased the laptop it had Vista installed, but in December I upgraded to Windows 7.

Anyway, the other night I started to notice that a few of my keys were being unresponsive (the "B", "M", "X" and ";"). I had been using the laptop for most of the evening at this point, so the problem seemed out of nowhere. I restarted the computer a few times and finally turned it off to remove those keys and clean the keyboard.

I turned the computer on a few minutes later and those keys still didn't work. Finally I decided to restart the computer again only to have NONE OF THE KEYS work when pressed.

I've never spilled anything on the computer, I've never dropped the computer and although I leave it on for a good portion of the day (I'm a student) I turn it off and make sure to run virus scans and regular updates. I do have a kitten, but he doesn't sit on my computer because when I am not sitting at my computer I close it and sit it on a table.

I read somewhere that unplugging the laptop and removing the battery for a few minutes will help fix the problem--I tired that several times and that didn't work.

I read plugging in an external USB keyboard and seeing if I can type with that should work--and it DID the first time I used it, but afterward even that didn't work.

Unfortunately, I can't even maneuver around my desktop because I had a password on my laptop--so since I can't use the keyboard I can't enter in my password and I can't log on. :smileysad:

Lastly, yesterday I was briefly able to get the external keyboard AND my laptop's keyboard to work. I went to download Microsoft drivers & run a virus scan. Of course after the downloads are complete the computer restarts so once it restarted I was back at square 1 (not being able to use either keyboard)