broady59

toshiba satellite m45 wont boot unless its completely cold

I am a tech with a customer machine Toshiba M45 and the same problem may others have about getting stuck at boot screen (four icons) on a M45 laptop. The computer stops at the boot screen with the four icons and then does nothing. When cold it works fine. I did image the drive and replaced with new hard drive with same image and the same issue occured. Sometimes it will boot to a 3/4 spash screen with a black bar on the right. And freeze there. Sometimes not. It is a shame because other than that it works fine. Occasionally shutdown hangs as well. Let the PC sit 10 minutes and it works again. It looks like some component with a low heat threshold is stopping things from starting. If I keep on and offing the start button, it may start up in once in ten tries. Tried every Bios setting. Upgrade Bios to newest version.

link to others who have identical problem.

www.techsupportforum.com/hardware-support/laptop-support/240135-toshiba-satellite-m45-wont-boot-unle...

K1
K1

Re: Toshiba satellite m45 wont boot unless its completely cold

[ Edited ]

Hi there,