EMRDIV

SATELLITE L555D-S7930 Black screen, won't boot at all

I have heard that this problem exist with this type of laptop, but I can't seem to find a cure.  It first, when it locked up on boot-up, I would shut it down using the power button, unplug the DC and remove batt. It would then boot normally.  Now, I only get the 3grn lights, fan runs for a tenth of a sec., and blk screen. I have hooked up an external monitor (pushing fn 5 key) and still nothing but blk screen.  I removed the ram cards and switched slots. I also removed the hard drive.  Then I decided to ck the fan to see if it was filled with lint.  It only had a little and everything else looked good. I'm no computer expert at all.  As a matter of fact, I know enough to get myself in trouble and that's about all.  I would really appreciate some help if anyone has had this problem, or has any other suggestions.  Thank you for taking the time to read this. Terry

Peter

Re: SATELLITE L555D-S7930 Black screen, won't boot at all

Terry, it sounds like you've done more than most people could have done.

With it plugged into power but turned off, the LEDs showing that it's plugged in and the battery is charging are lit, correct?

Can you try using the laptop without the battery and only the AC adaptor?

Then try again using using only the battery and no AC adaptor. Do either of those scenarios work?

- Peter
EMRDIV

Peter wrote:

Terry, it sounds like you've done more than most people could have done.

With it plugged into power but turned off, the LEDs showing that it's plugged in and the battery is charging are lit, correct?

Can you try using the laptop without the battery and only the AC adaptor?

Then try again using using only the battery and no AC adaptor. Do either of those scenarios work?