Shubee

Recovery hangs during reboot

Good morning...

After having several issues with my Satellite P205-S6297 trying to run XP SP2 on it, I finally gave up and decided to run the recovery CD. Things went smoothly until I got to the initial Vista screen (where your desktop icons are, etc), and then the "Toshiba is running final application installation. Your system will reboot in a few moments. DO NOT INTERRUPT THIS PROCESS!" (Or at least, something to that effect...)

Regardless of how many times I try, or how long I wait, the system never reboots; if anything, it simply shuts down. When it does this, I can power the system back up, and go through the process all over again. The system simply will not reboot and finalize the "Out-of-Box" configuration.

I need my computer; as a remote technician, I am attached to my office via my laptop about 99% of the time. I started this whole "recovery" process over the weekend so it would be done by late Sunday afternoon, and I was sitting here at 11:45 last night trying to get the system to restore, and then up again at 4:30 this morning, still wrestling with it. (I'm using my wife's desktop right now in an effort to find a solution.)

Can someone please give me an answer to what the problem might be, and how I can get my system restored? What good is a "recovery CD" if it doesn't recover?

Needless to say, I'm a bit unhappy with Toshiba's idea of "recovery"...

Thanks in advance for any help.

Shubee

Re: Recovery hangs during reboot

I forgot to mention that every time I manually reboot the computer (since it either just hangs up or shuts itself down during the "Final Application Recovery" mode), when it comes back up, it says it cannot complete installation in Safe Mode. So even booting in Safe Mode doesn't work.

It's almost like the thing is locked into some looping cycle and I'm at a loss as to how to get it back to "out of the box" condition. Hope someone can help....

Occasional Contributor
Chuckster