Occasional Contributor
devortiz06

Fan quit working. Satellite P755-S5381

[ Edited ]

The main cooling fan on my Satellite P755-S5381 just quit working. When viewing the PC health monitor, both the CPU temperature and the fan speed read 0% but the computer is quite warm. This computer is fairly new (I've been using it for about 3 months) so there shouldn't be any problems due to normal wear yet. The fan is pretty important, without it major damage could occur to the CUP and motherboard, so I need to figure this out as soon as possible.

Edit: I just ran a third party program (SpeedFan 4.45), it shows the CPU temperature sensor to be still working and shows the CPU at about 65 C. This program is unable to change the fan speed for me though (it is supposed to but either its not compatible with this computer or whatever is wrong is interfering).

Regular Advisor
GordOfTheJungle

Re: Fan quit working. Satellite P755-S5381

The cooling fan is usually very close to the vents on the side of the computer. Check the vents for dirt, dust or other blockages. If no blockages and still no fan, I would call the Call Center and see about getting a repair. You're right, a non-working fan could damage your system board or CPU.

Avoid those 3rd party fan programs. They never seem to work on the Toshiba computers.

Occasional Contributor
devortiz06