tslandry
Accepted Solution

"Plugged in, battery not charging"

I have been using a Toshiba netbook for several months, and it suddenly stopped charging last week. I don't think I have done anything different, but the battery icon says, "Plugged in, battery not charging." I searched the forums and a similar issue was addressed on 5-28-09. I tried the possible solutions on that post, but my battery is still not charging. Does anybody know how to fix this problem?

Occasional Advisor
Daopa

Re: "Plugged in, battery not charging"

TS, hello.

As a test, plug it in to the grid and then after booting, remove the battery. If it dies, the power supply is faulty.  If it keeps running then maybe a contact on the battery is damaged, have a good look.

Batteries are finicky items, they sometimes quit cooperating. Do you have a similar one to test ?

tslandry

Well, I had already taken the battery out a couple times and stared at the connections (what do bad connections look like?) with no change, but, the power was off when I did it. So, I powered up, took the battery out and stared at the connections some more. They hadn't changed. I put the battery back in with the power still on, and - lo and behold! - it started charging. Why having the power on made a difference, I don't know. I resisted the urge to jump for joy and put the computer to sleep for the night. This morning I had a full charge.

Thank you very much for such a simple solution to a vexing problem.

Occasional Advisor
Daopa

[ Edited ]

Good morning TS.